Blinding White for Your Twitter Homepage Background

If you notice a stark all-white background instead of the customized background when you are viewing your profile, main timeline and notifications, do not worry because it is not just you. Twitter has decided to remove wallpapers from user’s homepages and notification timelines last Monday.

All background images are only available where logged-in users will see them publicly in Tweet pages, list pages and collections pages. Twitter’s pre-set background or the user’s customized wallpapers have been replaced with what some people refer to as “blinding white”. Previously, users were allowed to change the background image on their profiles which also showed as their wallpaper on the Twitter website.

However, Twitter has also made an improvement because it now easier to manage your account’s security and privacy settings. A new data dashboard has been introduced to provide users with a detailed look at all their privacy and security settings so that users can easily manage account access, block accounts and block access to third party apps.

The password-protected dashboard can now be accessed through your account’s main settings menu under “Your Twitter data” where you have an overview of your account history. This also includes the exact date and time when you signed for Twitter including all the apps and devices that are currently authorized to access your account. For example, if you have been using a mobile phone to access Twitter, it will show the date when it was activated for Twitter. The same info is available when you used an Android tablet.

The reason why Twitter has made improvements on the security and privacy settings is to give users an easy way to verify that everything should look the way it should be. It is important for users to have control over their information that is why Twitter has made the deliberate design decisions.

For example, if you see a login activity from an app that you do not recognize, you can easily go to the app tab in your setting to revoke its access to your Twitter account. If you notice there are logins from suspicious locations, you can change your password immediately and enroll in login verification for additional security.